July Books 

I swear the time between these posts gets shorter and shorter each month!

I know I said June was crazy, but July was even crazier! We went to the beach (where I got a lot of reading done, our niece was born, and we sold our house. That’s just way too much crazy for one month! More on the rest of that stuff later, but for now, let’s talk about the books I read: 

Washington: A Life by Ron Chernow

 

img_4864

Washington, being our first president, was the first president of my Presidential Book Project. You can read my full review here, but let me warn you this 800 page monster is not for the causal history buff. 4/5 stars.

Arena (Arena #1) by Holly Jennings

This was a book I reviewed for Blogging for Books. You can read my full review here, but let me just tell you, I loved it. Strong female lead by a female author. 5/5 stars

Radio Silence by Alice Oseman

img_4951

Okay, this is one of the best books I have read in a while. In it, the main character is obsessed with a podcast. Turns out that the guy who creates the podcast is her next door neighbor, who she’s never really talked to. They end up becoming best friends (not lovers!) and just having the most beautiful relationship. I devoured this book and was sad when it was over. 5/5 stars.

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake 

img_4994

For some reason, I kept picking this up at the library, and then putting it back down. Finally, I was in a hurry (my library does not joke around at closing time) so I just grabbed the book so I could check out in time. The story is of three sisters, who are fighting to the death to be Queen of their island. One is an elemental, one is a poisoner, and one is a naturalist, and they each must use their gifts to kill the others. The story takes several twists, and I can’t wait to get my hands on the sequel this fall. 4/5 stars

The City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments #6) by Cassandra Clare

I’m actually really sad to have reached the end of this series. I grew really attached to all of the characters, not just the main ones. This was the perfect ending to a series I’ve been visiting all year. 5/5 stars

American Street by Ibi Zoboi

I found this book via an article that covered the best 17 YA books of the year. Naturally, I put all the ones I could find on my hold list at the library. This book covers a girl and her journey to start a life in America after leaving her home in Haiti. At first I didn’t like the book, but after reflecting on it, I see that it is a valuable story, especially in this day and age. 3/5 stars

The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr

I picked this up because I was seeing it everywhere, and I had a hard time deciding how I felt about it. The story is about Flora, a 17 year old girl with amnesia. She can only remember about 3 hours at a time, and so the book constantly reiterates things as she relearns them. While this is slightly annoying as a reader, it was an interesting look at amnesia. The story drags a little, but the plot twist at the end makes it worth reading. 3/5 stars

The Whole Thing Together by Ann Brashares

31123236

I failed and forgot to take a picture of this one before returning it to the library. I also found this one through that same Top 17 article. I can’t really think of a way to describe this, so here’s the Goodreads description:

Sasha’s dad was once married to Ray’s mom, and together they had three daughters: Emma, the perfectionist; Mattie, the beauty; and Quinn, the favorite. But the marriage crumbled and the bitterness lingered. Now there are two new families—and neither one will give up the beach house that holds the memories, happy and sad, of summers past.

The plot was interesting, but dragged at times. However, I still felt compelled to keep reading. At the end, there’s a plot twist that I did not see coming. 3/5 stars

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

I read this back when it first came out, and since then two sequels have been released. I remembered liking the book, but not much about it, and wanted to revisit before I read the other two. In this book, Jacob has grown up with his grandfather’s fairy tales of fighting monsters and strange children. After his death, Jacob sets out on a journey to discover the truth. I found the book fascinating, and think I actually enjoyed it more the second time around. I already have the next two on hold at the library. 4/5 stars

John Adams by David McCullough

Since this was a part of my Presidential Book Project, he’ll get his own post later. For now, I’ll just tell you it gets a 3/5 star rating.

Misery by Stephen King

As much teen lit as I read, it may come as a surprise that I also love Stephen King. He never ceases to amaze me and keep me guessing until the very end. In Misery, an author is held hostage by his “number one fan” and demands he produce a novel just for her. Things start to get dangerous… and addictive. 5/5 stars

Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children #2)


I am thoroughly impressed with this series for several reasons:

  • Riggs handles some mature themes, such as should a small group of Peculiars determine the fate of a large group of Normals?
  • Time travel in this universe doesn’t make my head hurt figuring it out
  • Riggs trusts that the author can figure things out and doesn’t spend too much time describing how the world works, but instead focuses on why

I can’t wait to read the third and final installment! 4/5 stars

Kingdom Hearts Vol 1-4

img_5408

The Kingdom Hearts games are by far my favorite video games. I had been wanting to replay them for a while, but unfortunately my PlayStation 2 is packed in a storage unit while we move. Luckily for me, they exist in manga form!

I’m not a huge manga fan, but these did not cut it for me. Anyone not familiar with the story in the games would be thoroughly confused. The plot is choppy and lacks explanation. I enjoyed them as a refresher, but would still rather play the games. 3/5 stars for all 4 of them.

Library of Souls (Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children #3)

img_5416

The third and final installment of the series wrapped things up nicely. I think this one was my favorite of the three, as it continues to hit on some deep themes and ask some thought provoking questions. I highly reccomend this series! 4/5 stars

July books: 17
Books this year: 96

