Arena

Guys, this book.

I was planning on having my review posted earlier, but before I could get to read it, my husband stole it off my to-read pile.

“Hey, is that red book from the library?” he asked.
“No, it’s mine,” I said.
“It looks interesting. I’m going to read it.”

So, he read it last weekend while we lounged at the lake, and I read it this week while we were at the beach. And, it gets two thumbs up from both of us.

The RAGE tournaments the Virtual Gaming League’s elite competition where the best gamers in the world compete in a fight to the digital death. Every kill is broadcast to millions. Every player leads a life of ultimate fame, responsible only for entertaining the masses.

And though their weapons and armor are digital, the pain is real.

Chosen to be the first female captain in RAGE tournament history, Kali Ling is at the top of the world until one of her teammates overdoses. Now she’s stuck trying to work with a hostile new teammate who s far more distracting than he should be.

Goodreads

Arena is a story about a strong female character, who plays professional video games (that are basically modern gladiator battles), written by a female, that also serves as a strong allegory about the role drugs and pressure play in professional sports. It had me hooked from the beginning. I literally could not put it down, and read it all in one sitting.

One of the reviews on the back described it as a cross between Hunger Games and Ready Player One, which I believe is an accurate description. I can’t wait to get my hands on the sequel.

5/5 stars

I received this book fromย Blogging for Booksย for this review.

Leave a Reply

