June Books

This month has flown by! Between marathon training, being extra busy at work, and just life stuff, I didn’t get to read nearly as much as I wanted this month. Good thing for July is I’ll spend the first week at the beach, so I hope to get a lot covered then! 

This month I read:

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

I’m a sucker for trashy dramatic teen lit (Gossip Girl, Pretty Little Liars, etc.) and this one was not disappointing. The story takes place in the future, when most of NYC has been replaced by a giant tower, home to both the elite and the poor. The story follows a few members of the Tower through a crazy ride, and lined itself up perfectly for the sequel coming out this Fall. 4/5 stars

Dream It! Do It! by Marty Sklar

This book was disappointing. Maybe it was because I had just read another book by Marty Sklar last month, but I found the content to be fluffy and boring, and similar to his other book. 2/5 stars

The Magnolia Story by Chip and Joanna Gaines

41Tt22F9V0L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Guys. For the first time since starting this series, I forgot to take a picture of the book before returning it to the library! I read this entire book in one sitting, and really enjoyed it. I’ve never been super into Fixer Upper like a lot of people I know, but I really enjoyed reading Chip and Joanna’s story. 4/5 stars

Hag-Seed by Margaret Atwood

This was a Blogging for Books choice, and you can read my whole recap here. 4/5 stars

The City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

I honestly have no clue why this series is so addicting and why I keep coming back to them, but I’m too invested now to give up. This was not my favorite in the series. I found it to drag and have a lot of strange explanations for things (which means a lot in a book where warlocks are a common thing). There’s one more book left for me to read, and then I’ll have to find a new fantasy series to follow. 3/5 stars

June Books: 5
Books This Year: 79

