Hag-Seed

“Our revels now are ended. These our actors,
As I foretold you, were all spirits and
Are melted into air, into thin air:
And, like the baseless fabric of this vision,
The cloud-capp’d towers, the gorgeous palaces,
The solemn temples, the great globe itself,
Yea, all which it inherit, shall dissolve
And, like this insubstantial pageant faded,
Leave not a rack behind. We are such stuff
As dreams are made on, and our little life
Is rounded with a sleep.”
― William Shakespeare, The Tempest

When I saw that Blogging for Books was offering up retellings of Shakespeare Classics, I knew I had to pick one up for my next read. As a bonus, Hag-Seed was written by Margaret Atwood, so I knew the book had to be great.

I was not disappointed with this retelling. While it did get a little while to get into the story, it unfolded nicely and kept me wanting to read more. The main character, Felix, was crafty and inventive. While the story is completely improbable, that’s what makes it true to Shakespeare’s work.

I read this book slower than normal, because Atwood gives you a lot to think about.

This book sparked my interest in the Hogarth Shakespeare series, and I can’t wait to read more of them!

4/5 stars

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

2 thoughts on “Hag-Seed

Leave a Reply

