May Books

Another month has come and gone, and a bunch more books have been read! This month, I got a great idea for a new reading challenge, so stay tuned for more on that! In the meantime, check out what I read this month:

The Runner’s Brain by Dr. Jeff Brown

A friend let me borrow this one, and I wasn’t sure what to expect. Overall, I thought it was really interesting and picked up a few distraction techniques for running. However, I am not a fan of the way he writes. 3/5 stars

The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult


I love Jodi Picoult, but this is the first book of hers I haven’t truly loved. Something about it just lacked the Picoult sparkle. 3/5 stars

The Unofficial Guide to Disneyland 2017 by Bob Sehlinger and Seth Kubersky with Guy Selga Jr.

Please ignore the fact my dog thought the book was a snack. For a first time Disney park visitor, this book would be extremely helpful. As someone who has been to Disney World multiple times and is now planning a first time Disneyland Trip, I didn’t find it extremely valuable. 3/5 stars

Running, a Love Story: 10 Years, 5 Marathons, and one Life Changing Sport by Jen A. Miller

Jen covers the ups and downs of her running career as well as her love life. This is a fast easy read, but tells a charming story. 4/5 stars

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot

This book has been on my to read list for years. Then, RadioLab did a special on HeLa cells in anticipation for the release of the TV documentary, and I knew I needed to finally read it. It wasn’t as riveting and I expected, due to the hype it had received, but it did make me think a lot about medical ethics. 4/5 stars

Of Cats and Men by Sam Kalda

I wrote all about this one here.

All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda


This book was not quite what I expected, and honestly fell flat. I was expecting Gillian Flynn level suspense after the reviews I read, and just found the overall story meh. 3/5 stars

Hanson’s Marathon Method by Luke Humphrey

I guess if this is the marathon method I’m using for the Fall, I should probably read the book πŸ˜‰ I was lucky enough to hear the Hanson brothers speak back in March, and the book provided a new level to my knowledge. However, there were lots of errors that could have benefitted from a second or third editing. 4/5 stars

City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare (The Mortal Instruments #4)

This series has really grown on me. The third book is still my favorite, but this one was also great. As soon as I finished, I put number 5 on hold. 3/5 stars

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

I read FangirlΒ last Fall, and in it the main character writes a fan fiction story based on her universe’s version of Harry Potter. This is that story. It took me a little while to get into it because the first few chapters were such an obvious Potter rip off, but something about it was just endearing. I put Potter out of my brain for a while and just enjoyed the story and the writing. 4/5 stars

Lost in a Book by Jennifer Donnelly


When I saw this on the digital lending system at my library, I knew I needed to read it. It was released in conjunction with the new live action movie, and offered up a bonus story to the plot. It was adorable and interesting. 3/5 stars

One Little Spark! by Marty Sklar


I love books about the inner workings of Disney, but this one fell as little flat. It was almost two books in one: Mickey’s Ten Commandments and The Road to Imagineering were two totally different concepts. Additionally, the second part was just quotes he took from other imagineers. However, it did have its interesting aspects. 3/5 stars

Ghostly Echoes (Jackaby #3) by William Ritter

The third installment in the series was much better than the second! It took a pretty dark turn and we learned a lot about Mr. Jackaby. I can’t wait for the 4th book to come out this Fall. 3/5 stars

Vanishing Acts by Jodi Picoult

I’m not sure how I feel about this one. I love Picoult, but this one felt different than the rest I have read by her. I didn’t love it, but I didn’t hate it either. 3/5 stars

Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank

Another one on the “books I should have read before now”. I don’t know how I’ve made it this far without reading this, but wow. At first Anne annoyed me, but I realized she was just being a typical 14-year-old girl. We are all moody and insecure at 14. Through her diary, you watch her grow up before your eyes. And we all know the heartbreak that happens in the end. 5/5 stars

Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan


This book. Oh my gosh this book. I picked it up when I saw a friend with similar tastes mark it 5 stars on Goodreads. I don’t know what I expected, but this was so much more. I may rank it up there as one of my favorite books of all time. I don’t want to ruin anything. Just go read it.

Books this month: 16
Books this year: 74

