April Books

This past month I knocked out a lot of books. I owe a big part of it to my marathon recovery week, where I think I read one a day. The best part of this month is that none of the books have any relation. There are business books, running books, a kids book, a cookbook and more! Read below to see what all I read and what I thought of them. 

Let My People Go Surfing by Yvon Chouinard

My favorite podcast is How I Built This, and Yvon Chouinard, founder of Patagonia, was recently featured. I mentioned the episode in a conversation with my boss and how I wanted to read his book, and it turned out he had it in his office! I love Chouinard’s business philosophies, and can see why Patagonia is not only successful, but consistently ranked as one of the top companies to work for. 5/5 stars

Run Fast. Eat Slow. by Shalane Flanagan and Elise Kopecky


I’m not sure if a cookbook counts, but I did spend a good amount of time one weekend flipping through, reading the content, and analyzing the recipes. I didn’t read every single word, but I “read” most of it. I even tested out a recipe: Superhero Muffins! I look forward to testing out other recipes throughout the year. 4/5 stars

We Are Okay by Nina LeCour

I found this book through a Facebook ad, and it seemed interesting enough so I put it on hold. I loved this book. It’s so well written, and even though I had never gone through any events like those outlined in the book, it hit me hard. 5/5 stars

Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin #1) by Robin LaFevers

The book took a while to really get going, but for some reason I couldn’t stop reading. It offers an interesting perspective on religion, and the writing is beautiful. 4/5 stars

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

I love dark book, and Gillian Flynn does not disappoint. This book has a nice complex plot that flashes between present day and past, and kept me guessing until the end. 4/5 stars

Beastly Bones (Jackaby #2) by William Ritter


I read the first in the series back in November and kind of forgot about the series until I saw the second one sitting in the library. This one wasn’t nearly as good as the first, and I had to force myself to keep reading. 3/5 stars

A Man Called Ove by Fredrick Backman

This book. Wow. I had low expectations and it blew me away. I think it might actually be my new favorite. I don’t want to give anything away. Just read it. 5/5 stars

26.2 Miles to Boston by Michael Connelly

I picked this up the weekend before the Boston Marathon, and it was the perfect lead in. The book covers each mile of the course, as well as the history of the race. To non runners, it may be boring, but I loved it. 4/5 stars

Red Vengeance (Black Widow #2) by Margaret Stohl

The first book in the series was okay, but this one was dreadful. I had to force myself to finish. Too much happens, not enough is explained, and it doesn’t translate well to a book. 2/5 stars.

The Circle by Dave Eggers

When Zach and I went to see Logan, the trailer for the movie played. When I saw it was based on a book, I pulled out my phone and put the book on hold. Everyone else must have had the same idea, because I was 5th in line. The trailer hooked me, it looked like a fascinating journey through a mysterious, maybe dangerous tech company. However, the book fell flat. I’m hoping this is one of the rare instances where the movie is better than the book, but we’ll find out. 2/5 stars

Matilda by Roald Dahl


Yes, I am 24 and I have never read Matilda until now. I have to say, I liked it more than I expected. Earlier this year I read The BFG and I think I like this one more. I’m happy to have crossed one off the list of “things I should have read as a child but didn’t”. 5/5 stars.

The Moth Presents All These Wonders: True Stories About Facing the Unknown edited by Katherine Burns

This was a book I received from Blogging for Books, so I did a write up here. 5/5 stars

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton


This is another one on the list of “things I probably should have read before 24”. I think this book would have resonated more with a younger me, but it’s still a fantastic book. 4/5 stars

April Books: 13
Year to Date Books: 58

