March Books

I read a lot of books. Some of them I review on here, but a lot of them I read and just move on. So going forward I want to at least touch base and give my overall opinion on those I don’t review completely.

For reference, here is how I categorize my star ratings:

1- This book should not exist, it was torture to read

2- Why did I make myself finish this? To see if it got better. If I’m ranking it 2 stars it did not.

3- It was okay. If I never read it again, that would be okay. But, if I was really bored I might consider it. Also used when the story is good but wraps up badly, doesn’t have enough explanation, writing is bad, etc.

4- Almost perfect, but still a few issues. Would consider re-reading in the future.

5- There’s a high chance you’ll get this book reccommended to you if you ever ask me for books to read.

The books I read for March are…

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files 01) by Aimee Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

This book has everything that a sci-fi junkie loves. Battles in space, rogue AI systems, and what are basically space zombies. It’s told her through instant messages, emails, classified military files, And other non-traditional storytelling methods. Overall I loved the story and can’t wait to get one. 4/5 stars

Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnston

I had seen this in a BuzzFeed list or two, so when I saw it at the library I snagged it. I read it all in one sitting, so it was an easy read, but something about it didn’t sit right with me. It’s about a girl who gets raped at cheerleading camp and the events that follow. I’m not one to shy away from hard issue books, but this one seemed a little too happy and feel good to be a rape story. 2/5 stars

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

This was a re-read in anticipation of the new Netflix series debuting this month. I think I first read it when I was 14 or so. It’s about a girl who commits suicide and leaves behind 13 tapes explaining the events that led to her decision. 14 year old me thought it was a lot more profound than 23 year old me, but it’s a riveting story nonetheless. 4/5 stars

Disneyland Secrets by Gavin Doyle

There’s less than six months until I make my first ever trip to Disneyland, so I’ve been reading a few books on the topic. This is a nice little collection of little known facts about the park. I have to say I actually didn’t know some of them! It’s short and sweet (I read it in one sitting) but I did enjoy it. 4/5 stars

City of Glass by Cassondra Clare (The Mortal Instruments #3) 

Okay, this was the third one in the series, and I liked the first two enough. They were a little slow, but it turns out they were just setting the stage for a major plot twist that happens in this one! It was the most action packed one in the series so far. 4/5 stars

The Princess Diarist by Carrie Fisher

I got this book for Christmas, right after Carrie passed away. The book follows her journey of filming A New Hope, and her affair with Harrison Ford. There are excerpts from her diaries in the middle, and they were fascinating. Carrie’s writing style is a little hard to follow, since it’s almost stream of consciousness, but she’s hilarious. 4/5 stars.

Gemina (Illuminae Files 02) by Aimee Kaufman and Jay Kristoff


After finishing the first one, I immediately put the second on hold. The first one was great, but this one is even better. I don’t want to spoil everything, but parallel universes are involved, and the way it was written was fascinating. I’m anxiously awaiting #3 this Fall. 5/5 stars

Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven

The story was mostly predictable and slightly lackluster, but there are some solid themes about confidence and acceptance that must high schoolers should read. For that reason alone I give it 3/5 stars.

Creativity, Inc by Ed Catmull


This book covers two things: a brief history of Pixar, and how to manage in a creative company. I love Pixar, and one day wish to be a marketing manager, so this was a perfect fit. 5/5 stars

Eleanor by Jason Gurley

Since this one came from Blogging for Books, I did a whole write up here. Basically, it was a long acid trip. 2/5 stars

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson


I don’t read graphic novels all that often, but I have read a few. This one is quirky and funny, but actually kind of took a dark turn at the end. I love the illustration style, too. 4/5 stars

Replica by Lauren OliverReplica by Lauren Oliver

This book was crazy. One half is told from one point of view, and the other is from a different one. This particular edition had 2 front covers, an the stories met in the middle. The plot was very interesting, and the concept was great, but there were times it wasn’t fleshed out enough to satisfy me. 4/5 stars

Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer


This is a) entirely different than Jodi Picoult’s normal work and b) written for a much younger demographic than I originally thought. It’s a cute concept, and I like that she wrote it with her daughter. 3/5 stars

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling


I know, I’m really behind here, but I finally got my hands on a copy! (Thanks, Mom!) I’m not sure a play was the way I wanted to re-enter the Wizarding World, but I did enjoy it. I may have even cried a little. 4/5 stars

Total March books: 14

Total 2017 books: 45

Check back next month to see what I tackle in April!

Leave a Reply

