Own It: The Power of Women at Work

I’m fortunate enough to work at a company that values women, but I realize that not everyone is as lucky. In Own It: The Power of Women at Work, Sallie Krawcheck talks about the future of women in business, how we are changing it, and talks about life lessons she’s learned in her 30+ year career on Wall Street. 

This book isn’t what I expected, in a good way. I was worried Krawcheck was going to empower women and try to give us the confidence boost we need to ask for that pay raise. She did the opposite. She spoke from experience and gave first hand accounts of how woman have both rocked the corporate world and been stepped on.

There were two things that stuck out to me. The first is that every time she gives financial advice, she uses a “base salary” of $85,000. I wish that was my base salary, but I guess when you work on Wall Street that’s what the entry levels get paid.

The second is that I’m a little different. Maybe it’s because I’m younger than her and have a different mindset, but never once have I felt like I was the inferior one in the room simply because I was a woman. She cites a study where elementary children receive a description of a “really smart” person and must point to a picture of a man or woman. Most kids pick the man. I’ve always picked the girls over boys.

School age girls are also more prone to think their boy classmates are smarter than them. Not me. I was very cocky in high school and knew that while there were one or two boys smarter than me, I was smarter than the rest.

I don’t know what sparked this outlook on life, but I’m glad I have it. And I hope more girls grow up to have it so they don’t have to deal with the mansplaining, sexism, and other issues tackled in this book.

I gave this book 4/5 stars, because while it is a great read, the chapters sometimes talk in circles. Krawcheck does make some great points however, and is definitely worth the read for every working woman.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

