December Empties

There are a few things I’m banning myself from buying in 2017, mainly candles, hand soap, body wash, and lotion. I worked at Bath and Body Works for about a year, and I still have an impressive overwhelming hoard of products. For a while I kept buying more, but recently I’ve seen the light and decided to try to use up as much as possible in 2017. The rules are: I simply can’t buy a new product until I’ve used the old one up. To help keep myself accountable, I’m going to start monthly empties posts. And don’t worry, everything that can be recycled will be!


This month I used up:

  • Me! Bath Mini Ice Creams in “Gotta Have it Pomegranate”– I love these little bath bombs. It takes two or three to be strong enough for my bath water, but they leave my skin feeling so soft. And, I’ve yet to find a scent I don’t like. 5/5 stars.
  • Up & Up Women’s Multivitamin Gummies– These are okay, the bottle doesn’t seal very well and toward the end they start to get stale. 3/5 stars
  • Bath & Body Works Shower Gel in “Sonoma Weekend Escape”– All of their shower gels clean the same, so I’ll have to rate this one on scent. I liked it to begin with, but it got old really fast. It’s a blend of peaches and pears, which is interesting, but not my favorite. 3/5 stars
  • Mrs. Meyers Clean Day hand soap in “Rhubarb”– I got this soap for Christmas last year and it lasted forever. However, because it lasted so long, I got really tired of the scent. I also prefer my Bath & Body Works soaps over this. 3/5 stars
  • Luminessence Candle in “Fresh Linen”– this came from the Dollar Tree and had zero scent after the first burn. I pretty much used it for ambience lighting during bubble baths. 1/5 stars
  • Arbonne RE9 Advanced Regenerating Toner sample– this is part of the full RE9 line, and while I like the toner the way it is packaged in the sample set makes no sense. I constantly dripped it on my clothes when using it. 3/5 stars
  • Arbonne RE9 Advanced Intensive Renewal Serum sample– when I was using this, I had a giant zit scab on my forehead that was refusing to heal. After one use of this serum, it started to get smaller. 4/5 stars
  • CVS Sensitive Skin cleansing towlettes– I bought these after a race in the summer because my face was salty and we had an hour drive home before I could shower. They work great for freshening up, but are horrible at removing makeup, which they say they do on the package. 2/5 stars
  • Bath & Body Works hand soap in “Brazil Pineapple Punch”– I love the whole Brazil collection of scents, and was sad to see my pineapple one go. 4/5 stars
  • Philosophy bubble bath in “White Cherry”– this was part of a trio of mini bubble baths I picked up. I loved the scent, but had to be careful about when I used it because it was loaded with glitter. I made sure to use it on a weekend so I didn’t go into work looking like a Twilight vampire. 3/5 stars
  • Bath & Body Works single wick candle in “Vanilla Pumpkin Marshmallow”– this is a nice warm cozy bakery scent. The candle burned evenly the whole time. 5/5 stars
  • Bath & Body Works lotion in “Malibu Heat”– this is an older lotion, and I believe it was starting to go bad as the scent changed toward the end. I wound up just throwing the last third of the bottle out. 3/5 stars.
  • Bath & Body Works Wave & Shine hair mist in “Endless Weekend”– this stuff was the worst. At the time I got it, Endless Weekend was my favorite scent, but now I am so tired of it that I barely used this spray. I tried it a few weeks ago again and it actually made my hair dry and frizzy so I threw out the contents of the container. 0/5 stars.
  • Colgate Whitening toothpaste– It’s toothpaste, it does it’s job. 4/5 stars
  • Bath & Body Works wallflower refill in “Leaves”– this is my favorite Fall scent, and I notice the scent in my house all the way through the bulb. 5/5 stars
  • Covergirl Bombshell Curvaceous mascara– I love this mascara’s two wand formula, it makes me have crazy eyelashes! Would definitely buy again. 5/5 stars
  • L’Oreal Infalliable eyeliner in black– this eyeliner started out great, but halfway through it crumbled and was unusable. 2/5 stars.
  • Up & Up nail polish remover pads (x2)– these get even stubborn glitter polish off, and don’t disentigrate like cotton pads. They work just as well as the Cutex brand. 5/5 stars
  • Cutex nail polish remover pad– these introduced me to the wonderful world of nail polish remover pads. Never again will I buy the bottle. 5/5 stars

What products were you loving or hating this month? Let me know below!

Leave a Reply

