The Sun is Also a Star

24 pages.

That’s all it took for me to fall in love with this book. 

I’ll be honest, I had my doubts. The Sun is Also a Star is on every best seller list, multiple BuzzFeed articles, several tables at Barnes & Noble, and I’ve even gotten some ads for book of the month type clubs featuring it in photos. It’s become the poster child of 2016 YA fiction.

And, oh, how deserving it is.

A simple search for connection.
To see.
To be seen

I knew it was a love story going in. But it’s also a story of interconnectedness and fate. It’s the story of Natasha, an illegal immigrant facing deportation and Daniel, a Korean boy who doesn’t want what his parents want. It’s the story of growing up and realizing the world isn’t what you thought. It’s a story of hope, and of loss.

Growing up and seeing your parents’ flaws is like losing your religion.

Yoon brought back some of the magic adulthood can take from life. I don’t want to spoil anything, but if you like YA books that (I’ll admit this) are slightly cheesy, than do yourself a favor and read this.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

Leave a Reply

