Carpe PM: Ipsy December Glam Bag

Once upon a time, a very makeup illiterate Leah signed up for Ipsy. She waited for weeks on the waiting list, finally got her first bag, didn’t know what any of the products were, and unsubscribed.

Fast forward to the last few months when I started seeing Ipsy bags all over Instagram. And I started actually knowing how to wear more makeup than just basic eyeliner and mascara. I actually can tell you what makeup brands are now! My interest was renewed in Ipsy, and I logged into my long forgotten account.

Apparently, since I did all my waiting the first time, I was allowed to sign right back up. I revamped my preferences and profile (now that I know I like lipstick) and the magic was worked. I just had to patiently wait for this baby to arrive at my doorstep:

If youre unaware of what Ipsy is, it’s a subscription service. For $10 a month you get 5 “premium” makup/skincare samples, and a cute little bag to put them in. Each is themed, since this is December they went with a New Year’s Glam theme, “Carpe PM”. Β The longer you subscribe, the more they learn your preferences. Since this was technically my first one (I never reviewed any of my products from my last one so they had nothing to go off of except my preferences), I think they did a pretty great job. Here’s what I got:

Ren Clean Skincare Glycol Lactic Radiance Renewal Mask

This is my least favorite item in the bag. It smells like rotten pineapples, and it did nothing. The package said it would tingle, but it didn’t. I didn’t see any difference in my skin after, either. 1/5 stars

Marc Anthony True Professional Nourishing Argan Oil of Morocco Deep Hydrating Conditioning Treatment

The instructions say to use weekly, so I’ve only used it once, but I noticed a difference in the way my hair felt after the one use. It’s gotten pretty damaged lately, and can be frizzy at times. I used it in the shower and blow dried my hair and it was super shiny! 5/5 stars

Nyx Professional Makeup Prismatic Shadow

This stuff is crazy pigmented. I put it on without any primer to see how it would behave and it stayed all day. It was actually kind of hard to get off. The purple color isn’t too bold, so I feel comfortable wearing it to work. 5/5 stars

Josie Maran Cosmetics Argan Enlightenment Illuminizer

This was my first time using a highlighter, and I’m in love. The bottle dispenses too much in a pump, so I just take the top off and dab some on my face. It highlights without looking like I just threw glitter on my face, so that’s definitely a positive. 5/5 stars

Ciate London Liquid Velvet Matte Lipstick in “Pinup”

This takes forever to dry, but the color is pretty. A little darker than I would have picked, but still wearable for winter. However, even after letting it dry for 30 minutes before eating or drinking, it transfers pretty bad. 4/5 stars

Overall I was very impressed with the products I recieved. I can’t wait for January!

Interested in getting your own Glam Bag? Sign up here!

2 thoughts on “Carpe PM: Ipsy December Glam Bag

Comments are closed.