Book Review: Habit Changers

This book is not what I expected. With a title like Habit Changers: 81 Game-Changing Mantras to Mindfully Realize Your Goals, I was expecting a book that would leave me feeling empowered and motivated to take on any goal I chose. Instead, I got a self-help book covering a bunch of problems I don’t really have issues with.

The book is written by MJ Ryan, who has used the Buddhist principle of repeating mantras to help her “clients” overcome bad habits and meet their goals over the past 14 years. At first I thought that meant she was a counselor or psychiatrist, but she seems to be a motivational speaker.

There are sections divided by topics such as Anger, Communication, Conflict, Perfectionism, Risk-Taking, Worry, and more. Each section is set up in the same format: a mantra on the left hand side and a one page blurb about where it came from and why it will help on the right. Each of these topics has several mantras.

Here are a few examples:

Do what only you can do (Delegation)

Work is the best way to get working (Procrastination)

Bake a bigger pie (Collaboration)

Anger is fear on the boil (Anger)

Overall, I thought this book was a bunch of bologna. I don’t believe the key to overcoming a problem is to repeat a phrase over and over. The key to fixing a problem is doing something about it. This book is now in my “to donate” pile.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

