Christmas Cookie Decorating With Mrs Joy 

One of my goals for 2017 is to blog about more local Lynchburg things. Here’s an early kickoff!

Recently, an amazing bakery, Mrs. Joy’s Absolutely Fabulous Treats, opened across the street from my office. I quickly became obsessed, and I’ve eaten more of her (delicious) chocolate chip cookies than I care to admit.

Last week, she posted that she was beginning to have decorating classes in the store, and I knew I had to take part in one. I mean, look at her gorgeous work:

Her skills are so good that she won the Christmas Cookie Challenge on Food Network last year. I’ve always wanted to take a decorating class, and she seemed like the perfect person to learn from!

The class was $20, which got an hour and a half of instruction and covered 6 cookies and the materials needed to decorate them. That price is a complete steal for the experience!

I got there a few minutes early (story of my life), and I got to hear some of her stories about being on the Food Network show. Let’s just say my perception of how they run those challenge shows has been forever altered.

We got to watch her mix our royal icing colors and load them into bags, something she makes look super easy! I can’t even load one icing bag for cupcakes without turning myself into a sticky mess.


We were then given 6 cookie shapes to decorate, and she walked us through the methods to decorate each one.

We covered wet on wet techniques, using a paintbrush with thick and thin royal icing, how to use glitter appropriately, and what to do if you make a mistake. While the skills I learned are not necessarily something I am going to put to use in my daily life, I do feel like I could decorate some fancy cookies now if I had a reason to.

My finished cookies!


The best part of the class was just learning from an expert in the field, and socializing with the people in the class. If you’re in the area, I highly recommend taking one of her classes. She’ll be doing them up to Christmas, and if you can’t make this one there will be more in the Spring. She let us in on the plan for those and let’s just say I’ll be back for both!

If you’re not into decorating, you should still stop in for a cookie (or two or three).

Source
One thought on “Christmas Cookie Decorating With Mrs Joy 

Leave a Reply

