3 Halfs, 3 Weekends, 3 States: Race 13.1 Fayetteville

This weekend kicked off a little mini challenge I have over the next 3 weekends: 3 Halfs, in 3 Weekends, in 3 States. It was going to be 6 back to back race weekends, but I realized that was a little crazy and decided to take it easy (haha).

This was my lifetime 18th half (#lj50by30), 8th half this year, and overall 8th Race 13.1 Event.

And I’m sad to say it was probably my least favorite event to date.

I waited too long to screencap the course map, but the entire 13.1 took place on the All American Freeway. Basically, we started in a shopping center, went down the exit ramp and turned left. We went this way for a while, up another exit ramp, past a Bojangles, and turned around somewhere around 3 miles. Then we came back down the exit ramp, down the Freeway until mile 8, then turned around again. After that we had to come back to exit ramp #1, but instead of turning to the finish we went the original way until mile 12. Only then did we get to turn around and come back up the first ramp into the shopping center and finish.

I had this epic plan to share a virtual race tour in Snapchat format, but those plans quickly disappeared when I learned there was nothing to look at. That’s what I get for not looking at the Athlete Guide before the race started. Stay tuned for another attempt at that next weekend!

Overall, it wasn’t my best time, but it wasn’t my worst either. I didn’t train very well the last few weeks, and I really need new shoes (thank goodness they are scheduled to be here tomorrow).

Still definitely worth it because the medal was pretty awesome:

img_0670  img_0675 img_0671

However, even though the race wasn’t my favorite, this trip has been great. After the race we did the only logical thing: drove 2 hours to go to to Wrightsville Beach.

14717223_10206882212004817_8343363443370507993_n img_0694

 

Which meant the only other logical thing to do was visit the ice cream shop we fell in love with back in February: Boombalattis. This time I tried Andes Mint, Caramel Oatmeal Cookie Crunch, Banana and Vanilla Wafers, and Heath Bar. All 4 flavors get 5 stars.

img_0696

This trip, we tried out Airbnb for the first time, and stayed at The Bungalow. I think staying in hotels may be ruined for me forever. We got a whole house to ourselves, our hostess Connie provided us with a fully stocked fridge, spare toiletries, and a ton of towels. Two thumbs up for accommodations.

img_0687 img_0689

Would I do this race again? Probably not. Would I travel with these people again? Absolutely.

One thought on “3 Halfs, 3 Weekends, 3 States: Race 13.1 Fayetteville

Leave a Reply

